Trailer Reaction – E3 Reveals: Part 1

 

E3 has come to a close, and I now that I have had some time to gather my thoughts and process everything that happened, I want to share them with you.  This E3, I must say is the BIGGEST…

…letdown ever.

With the exception of a handful of games with confirmed release dates, I felt like everyone who had presentations pretty much said, “This is what we’re working on, and it’s AWESOME…but you have to wait until 2017 for it.”  And what do we get on the interim?  REMASTERS.

remaster

I want to look forward to new IPs, new sequels, NEW ANYTHING…and we get stuck with remasters of games.  This remaster shit is getting ridiculous, but that’s a rant for another time.

I found this E3 to be EXTREMELY disappointing.

I’ll be breaking down my thoughts on a few games, and since there is a LOT of stuff, I’ll probably take a few posts to say it all.  I’ll also round up the videos shown.  This is also in no particular order; some trailers I truly enjoyed and some just didn’t excite me as much as they should have.

I’ll go ahead and start with probably the most obvious and probably most exciting part of E3; Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild!

 

This looks STUNNING.  I already see myself getting lost for weeks, maybe even MONTHS.  I am playing this game through and through, and will 100% if I can.

But…I can’t help but dread that this game isn’t coming out until 2017.  This is after TWO delays, and it’s now being made with the NX console as the focus.  I look forward to a new console, but going a whole console generation without a new Zelda game (NOT A REMASTER) doesn’t sit right with me.  However, one thing I’ve learned about Nintendo, is that when they push back a game, it ends up being epic.  They did the dual console transition thing with the Gamecube, the Wii and Twilight Princess, so this could be epic.

 

 

Mass Effect: Andromeda…Oh man, this game…Action RPGs are my favorite types of games.  I love creating my own characters and being the hero…or villain, depending how I’m feeling that day.  However, I still have my reservations on this game.  I’m excited, but at the same time I feel the original trilogy should be the end all, be all game.  I’m still not sure how a sequel to the trilogy would be, as there would have to be some form of canonical ending.  It looks promising, and I do love at the end when who we presume is the commander says, “We made it.”

 

 

This is how you admit you made a mistake; you make up for it by LISTENING to your audience, and give them what they want.  I got burnt out from the multiplayer in Titanfall, so the fact that there is an actual single player campaign has me excited.  I also hope there is an offline mode where you can play against the AI, if you don’t want to play online multiplayer, or just want to practice before you take on fellow gamers.  This is wishful thinking on my part, but here’s to hoping this game is a lot better than the first.

As you can see, I have some excitement, but a lot of reservations going into the second half of the year.  This is just the start of it, and in my next post, I’ll show of three more trailers/gameplay videos and wonder how badly will I need these games when they come out.

 

Leave a comment